Lancaster University Logo

Lancaster University

Lancaster University, Bailrigg, Lancaster, LA1 4YW (View on Map)
Visit Website

Similarly ranked Universities

Nearby Institutions

University Statistics


Lancaster University, based in Lancashire, was originally based in the City Centre, however was moved to 300 acres of land in Bailrigg in the late 1960’s to create the Lancaster University Campus. The University celebrated it’s 50th anniversary in 2014.

The University takes a great deal of pride in its campus location which “boasts the combination of city, coast and countryside”. There are 8 different undergraduate colleges which provide students with accommodation alongside students studying in similar academic areas.

There are 4 academic faculties at Lancaster University:

  • Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Health and Medicine
  • Faculty of Science and Technology
  • Faculty of Management

Outside of academic studies, students can make use of their students union by participating in over 200 different societies that revolve around sports, hobbies, politics etc.

Lancaster University are keen on sports clubs and during the summer term the students are able to take part in the Roses Tournament. This is a tournament between Lancaster University and York University, and is set up by both Students Unions, with an alternating venue each year.

The Students Union at Lancaster University (LUSU) own a nightclub called The Sugarhouse. They also run two shops on the campus and own an off-campus housing agency for students.

Latest Updates

University Location

Courses A-Z

Image by David Bleasdale is licensed under CC BY 2.0