University of Essex Logo

University of Essex

Colchester, CO4 3SQ (View on Map)
+44 (0)1206 874470
Visit Website

Similarly ranked Universities

Nearby Institutions

University Statistics


The University of Essex operates across three campuses, the main and largest of these being located in Colchester. The two other campuses are located in nearby Loughton and Southend. The University was founded in 1963 and gained its official University status in 1965. Today, the University is ranked 47th in the UK by the Guardian 2016 League Tables, and has previously been ranked 9th in the UK for its research quality.

The University is split into 4 faculties, which are further organised into schools and departments. These faculties are:

  • Faculty of Humanities & Comparative Studies
  • Faculty of Law & Management
  • Faculty of Science & Engineering
  • Faculty of Social Sciences

The East 15 Acting School is also run by the University of Essex at their Loughton Campus, with a further branch at the Southend Campus.

The Student’s Union at the University of Essex have three licensed venues for club-style student nights; Frango’s, Level 2, and Sub Zero. Sub Zero has been voted “Best Student Venue in the UK” since its recent refurbishment at a cost of £400,000.

As the University of Essex is a campus based University, there are a number of facilities across the main campus including a fully equipped gym, a 24 hour library, shops, banks, restaurants and a theatre.

Latest Updates

University Location

Courses A-Z