The Department of Law has a long history of teaching law; it is the oldest law school in Wales, and one of the oldest in the United Kingdom. The Department is housed in the spacious and modern Hugh Owen Building, which is centrally located on the University campus overlooking the town of Aberystwyth. It is self-contained with lecture theatres and the purpose-built Law Library less than a minutes walk from each other. Close at hand are the vast resources of the National Library of Wales, which as a copyright library receives copies of all books published in Great Britain.

One distinctive feature of the Department, which many students comment upon, is the friendly atmosphere and sense of community, including the informal relationship which exists between staff and students.

MRes Award
September Start
Full-time Study Mode
12 month Duration

Latest Updates from Aberystwyth University

Location of Aberystwyth University