Anglia Ruskin University ARU
Anglia Ruskin University ARU Logo

Anglia Ruskin University ARU

ARU gives you the opportunity to explore who you are and discover your strengths.  We provide an active, applied education that will empower you to find your purpose and gain the knowledge, skills and experience to achieve your ambitions. We’re delighted to be one of the top 10 mainstream universities in the country for UK undergraduates in employment. 

ARU offer undergraduate and postgraduate courses with a range of September and January start dates, part-time options, Degree Apprenticeships and accelerated (2 year) courses, to help find the right degree for you.  

We measure our success by the impact we have on our students – and on the communities we serve. We are proud that our students rate their educational experience highly. 

ARU Campuses  

You’ll find our campuses in the heart Cambridge, Chelmsford and Peterborough, each with their own unique style and charm. Our partnership with ARU London also gives you the opportunity to study for an ARU-validated degree in the capital city.  

From September 2021, courses at our new ARU Peterborough campus will be open for applications. This brand new £30 million university is being purpose built to provide high-quality, employment-focussed higher education in an area that has a lower rate of progression to university than the national average.  The doors will open to the first students in September 2022, with an ambition to build a community of 12,500 students by 2030. The range of courses include degrees and degree apprenticeships and will be delivered through a mixture of on-campus, blended and work-based learning.  By co-creating courses with regional businesses, ARU Peterborough ensures students learn the skills in demand by employers. Subject areas include: Business, Marketing and Finance, Computing and Games Development, Education, Engineering, Agri-technology and Environment, Health and Social Care, Nursing and Midwifery. 

ARU Peterborough is a Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority, Peterborough City Council and Anglia Ruskin University Initiative. 


ARU Facilities   

You’ll benefit from award-winning facilities at ARU - the result of £115m of investment over the past five years. Recent additions to our campuses include our School of Medicine in Chelmsford which began training our first cohort of doctors in 2018; our Science Centre in Cambridge specifically designed to support STEM students and researchers; and two Law Clinics offering our students the opportunity to work in real-life cases with qualified solicitors. ARU Cambridge is also home to facilities such as the Eye Clinic, Mumford Theatre, Ruskin Gallery, recording studios, print-making and 3D workshops, TV studio, editing suites and more. 

ARU Support  

The support services on offer are available to all ARU students and vary from regular on-campus sessions to online consultations and 1-2-1 advice.  

There are employability teams to help with CV writing, networking and securing part-time work, placements or internship opportunities. Anglia Ruskin Enterprise Academy are also available for business and start-up support/workshops. Student Services also offer money advice, health and wellbeing support, counselling, disability and dyslexia support, the Study Skills Plus scheme (academic support) as well as tailored academic support for each student with their assigned Personal Development Tutor. 

The Anglia Language Programme offers a chance to learn a modern foreign language, ARU Global assist with study abroad options and funding and finally, the Students’ Union are on hand to provide confidential, impartial advice, run events and volunteering opportunities, too. 


ARU Research  

With 12 world-leading areas of research, we're making a positive difference - tackling global issues from climate change to mental health. We’ve also helped more than 2,000 businesses to grow and perform better. Find out more at:

Times Good University Guide 2024 Ranking 115/131
Guardian 2024 Ranking 102/121
Address Anglia Ruskin University, Bishop Hall Lane, Chelmsford, CM1 1SQ View on Map
Contact Telephone 44 (0)1223 363271

View the latest updates from Anglia Ruskin University ARU

Location of Anglia Ruskin University ARU