Ulster University Logo

Ulster University

Ulster University is primarily based in Northern Ireland, with four campuses in Northern Ireland, and further campuses in London and Birmingham. The campuses in Northern Ireland are located in:

  • Belfast
  • Coleraine
  • Derry
  • Jordanstown

The University dates back to 1845 and received its official charter in 1968 when it was formally named New University of Ulster.

Students can choose from over 400 courses to study at Ulster, which are organised into six faculties. These faculties are:

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Art, Design and the Built Environment
  • Faculty of Computing and Engineering
  • Faculty of Life and Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Ulster University Business School

The students union at Ulster University (UUSU) is responsible for the sports union and coordinates over 60 sports clubs offering students a range of extracurricular activities. They also run societies for people interested in debating, comic books and even surfing.

At each of the campuses, Ulster University offers student accommodation to those wanting to live on campus in their student villages. In total there is almost 2,500 places in halls of residences and the room types vary at each student village. Rent in halls of residence starts at £58 per week and can be as expensive as £177 per week for rooms with the best facilities.

Times Good University Guide 2024 Ranking 40/131
Guardian 2024 Ranking 28/121
Address University of Ulster, Cromore Road, Coleraine, Londonderry, BT52 1SA View on Map
Contact Telephone

Location of Ulster University