University of Sussex

The University of Sussex is situated on the South Downs in East Sussex, on the edge of Brighton and Hove. It gained its university status in 1961 and today has a league table ranking of 19th in the Guardian University League Tables 2016; climbing over 20 places from the previous year.

Undergraduate courses offered at Sussex are organised into 12 schools of study. These schools are:

  • School of Business, Management and Economics
  • School of Education and Social Work
  • School of Engineering and Informatics
  • School of English
  • School of Global Studies
  • School of History, Art History and Philosophy
  • School of Law, Politics and Sociology
  • School of Life Sciences
  • School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences
  • School of Media, Film and Music
  • School of Psychology
  • Brighton and Sussex Medical School

First year students can choose to live on campus for their first year of study and Sussex offers students 8 different halls of residences to reside in. There is also three further off campus accommodation types approved by the University.

The University provide students with an extensive range of sports facilities including two large sports halls, cardio and resistance equipment, a dance studio, squash courts, four soccer pitches, six tennis courts, a rugby pitch and many more. There is also more than 30 student led sports clubs for students to take part in socially.

Times Good University Guide 2024 Ranking 48/131
Guardian 2024 Ranking 65/121
Address University of Sussex, Brighton, BN1 9RH View on Map
Contact Telephone

View the latest updates from University of Sussex

Location of University of Sussex

Undergraduate Courses A-Z at University of Sussex