York St John University
York St John University Logo

York St John University

York St John University dates back to 1841 when it was formally named York Training School. This makes York St John the oldest higher education institute in York. The University gained its full status in 2006 and today has a league table ranking of 107 after dropping 18 places from last year in the Guardian University League Table Rankings. The University is based in the city centre on Lord Mayor’s Walk; an eleven-acre site.

The courses offered by York St John are organised into Faculties. The 4 faculties are:

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Education & Theology
  • Faculty of Health & Life Sciences
  • York St John Business School

The faculties are further broken down into departments which focus on key subject areas. The institution is home to 15 departments including the likes of a sports department, management department, and media and communications department.

In the last 10 years the University has invested £100 million to transform the campus to provide new facilities including a drama and dance studio, music rooms, TV and film production facilities, editing suites and design studios. Standard facilities such as cafes, shops and bars can also be found on campus, and are managed by the Student’s Union.

Times Good University Guide 2018 Ranking 118/129
Guardian 2019 Ranking 119/121
Address York St John University, Lord Mayor's Walk, York, North Yorkshire, YO31 7EX View on Map
Contact Telephone

Location of York St John University

Undergraduate Courses A-Z at York St John University