University of Aberdeen
University of Aberdeen Logo

University of Aberdeen

The University of Aberdeen was founded in 1495 by Bishop William Elphinstone and is ranked as one of the world’s top 200 universities by the Times Higher World University Rankings 2020 and QS World Rankings 2020.

The University of Aberdeen is also associated with five Nobel Laureates with various works in life and natural sciences. The University has also awarded honorary degrees to several high-profile personalities such as Denis Law, Richard Dawkins, Willie Miller and best-selling author, J.K. Rowling.

The University has three campuses: Old Aberdeen, Foresterhill and Doha, meaning we are the first UK University to operate on a dedicated campus in Qatar.

  • Biological Sciences
  • Business School
  • Divinity, History and Philosophy
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Geosciences
  • Language, Literature, Music and Visual Culture
  • Law
  • Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition
  • Natural and Computing Sciences
  • Postgraduate Research School
  • Psychology
  • Social Science

The Old Aberdeen campus is in the city centre and the Foresterhill campus is accessible by a free bus which runs direct from Old Aberdeen. It is the historic heart of the University and houses the University’s buildings and student facilities, including the Sir Duncan Rice Library, Elphinstone Hall, the stunning Kings College, the Students Union and Aberdeen Sports Village and Aquatics Centre.

Times Good University Guide 2024 Ranking 19/131
Guardian 2024 Ranking 12/121
Address University Office, King’s College, Aberdeen, AB24 3FX View on Map
Contact Telephone +44 (0)1224 272090/91

View the latest updates from University of Aberdeen

Location of University of Aberdeen