De Montfort University

De Montfort University is based in Leicester and gained its university status in 1992. It presently has over 17,000 undergraduate students and was ranked 65 in the UK in the Guardian 2016 League Tables, climbing 20 places on the previous year.

The University offers undergraduate students a choice of 157 courses which are arranged into 4 faculties and further broken down into schools and departments. These faculties are:

  • Art, Design and Humanities
  • Health and Life Sciences
  • Business and Law
  • Technology

There is also an Institute of Energy and Sustainable Development, and an Institute of Creative Technologies. Notable schools at the University include Leicester Business School, Leicester School of Architecture and School of Nursing and Midwifery.

Over the next few years the University are continuing to develop and are investing £136 million in their main campus. Prior to this, DMU has invested £260 million in their facilities on campus to enhance students learning and living experiences. At DMU students will also benefit from 4 libraries on site.

The University houses 2,300 first year students in their nine halls of residences. All halls of residences are self-catered, with some rooms benefitting from en-suite facilities.

Times Good University Guide 2024 Ranking 120/131
Guardian 2024 Ranking 117=/121
Address De Montfort University, The Gateway, Leicester, LE1 9BH View on Map
Contact Telephone

View the latest updates from De Montfort University

Location of De Montfort University