University of Glasgow
University of Glasgow Logo

University of Glasgow

The University of Glasgow was founded in 1451, making it the fourth oldest university in England. The main campus is located in the West End of the city, with some other university buildings being situated outside the city centre. The Guardian has recently ranked the University of Glasgow 24th out of 119 Universities in the UK, in their 2016 University League Tables.

At the University there are four academic colleges, each subdivided into a number of schools, containing relevant subject courses for undergraduates. These colleges are:

  • College of Arts
  • College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences
  • College of Science and Engineering
  • College of Social Sciences

Glasgow provides student accommodation for first year students at the Glasgow Campus as well as the Dumfries Campus. Students have the choice of 6 self catered residences in Glasgow as well as 1 catered residence, whilst the Dumfries students have a choice of 3 self catered residences.

The University is home to two students unions; Glasgow University Union and Queen Margaret Union. Students are able to use both students unions as they cater for different student interests. The GUU focus mainly on students involved in debating and sports clubs, whilst the QMU is a premier music venue which has hosted acts such as Red Hot Chilli Peppers and Biffy Clyro.

Times Good University Guide 2024 Ranking 12/131
Guardian 2024 Ranking 13/121
Address University of Glasgow, Glasgow, G12 8QQ View on Map
Contact Telephone +44 (0) 141 330 6062

View the latest updates from University of Glasgow

Location of University of Glasgow

Undergraduate Courses A-Z at University of Glasgow