University of Derby

The University of Derby received its official university status in 1992 and is situated just outside Derby City Centre. The university has been ranked 8th in the UK for student employability, with 96.7% of full time degree graduates being in work or further study within 6 months of completing their studies.

The university is split into 7 colleges, each of which contains further departments and deliver the range of courses available at the University of Derby. These colleges are:

  • Arts
  • Business
  • Education
  • Engineering & Technology
  • Health & Social Care
  • Law, Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Life & Natural Sciences

Derby has 3 campuses with the majority of students being based on Kedleston Road at the Derby Campus. The second campus is based in Buxton, approximately an hour away from Derby, in the Peak District. The last campus is located in Chesterfield, and is dedicated to nursing courses.

As Derby is not a campus based university, the halls of residences for first year students are located halfway between the city centre and the university. There are 6 main halls of residence, with a further two that are normally used for clearing students and postgraduate students. The prices generally range between £75 and £140 per week depending on the type of room that you choose to live in.

Times Good University Guide 2019 Ranking 75/129
Guardian 2020 Ranking 26=/121
Address University of Derby, Derby, DE22 1GB View on Map
Contact Telephone +44 (0)8701 202330

Upcoming Open Days at University of Derby


Postgraduate & Professional Open Evening

05 Sep 2019, 16:30 PM - 05 Sep 2019, 19:00 PM Kedleston Road Campus
Book Open Day
This is your chance to find out if studying at Derby is right for you. It’s a big decision to make, and we believe that the best way to do that is by coming along and getting a feel for the University and the city where you could be studying your postgraduate degree or professional qualification. We're rated Gold in the Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) - your guarantee of high-quality, supportive teaching. At the Open Evening you'll meet our brilliant teaching staff, find out more about the subject you want to study, and see our fantastic facilities. Please feel free to bring guests with you on the day, they won't need to book separately just bring them along with you.

Latest Updates from University of Derby

Location of University of Derby

Postgraduate Courses A-Z at University of Derby